Construction of the first Bridgewater College gymnasium came with strong student support and some criticism from those in the community who felt athletics should not be a component of the Brethren College experience. Construction began on October 1907. On December 30, 1907 a windstorm destroyed the gymnasium as it was building built. Construction quickly resumed, and the gymnasium was first used in 1908. A covered balcony was later added for better views of basketball games on the gymnasium floor.
The Bridgewater College Class of 1913 financed a stage in the gymnasium as their senior class gift. This allowed the building to be used as an auditorium. Graduation exercises were held there from 1913 to 1916. In addition, there was a chemistry classroom and laboratory in the building’s basement from 1920 - 1926. A woodworking shop was moved there from Wardo Hall in 1917.
The balcony of the building was declared no longer safe around 1955 and fundraising began for a new gymnasium. The old gymnasium became a storage facility and workspace. The College is currently working to restore it.